Click here to view our Foundation Stage Parents’ Guide!

At our school all of our classes are named after birds. We are known as Wrens, but we are also referred to as Foundation Stage 2 or the Reception class. Prior to starting with us, children attend a variety of Foundation stage 1 settings (preschools, nurseries and childminders).

In Foundation Stage 2/Reception (Wrens), we follow the early years foundation stage. The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes

We have planned our EYFS curriculum around topics, which incorporate not only children’s interests, but also promote the use of our beautiful outdoor environment.  Each half term we launch our topics with a ‘WOW DAY’, and then bring our topics to a close with a ‘FABULOUS FINISH’, which the children help to organise and create resources for. Our main aim is to make learning active, hands on and most importantly fun! It is designed to create curiosity and a love of learning, with adult led activities to challenge and stimulate with continuous provision to demonstrate what they know and enhanced areas to enrich the children’s ideas and move them forward in play.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

Three areas are particularly important in building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving.

These are the prime areas:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development.

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

There are seventeen Early Learning Goals, which describe the level of development children should be expected to have attained by the end of the EYFS . To find out more CLICK HERE 

What does a day look like in our setting?  CLICK HERE

How do we engage you as parents in your child’s development?

We recognise that you are your child’s first educator and are committed to our role in supporting you to help your child develop over their time in Early Years. Below are some of the key ways we commit to keeping you up to date and helping you engage in your child’s learning journey.

  • Curriculum Topic Plans

You will receive a half termly curriculum topic plan to keep you up to date with what is happening in EYFS, such as our current theme and what we are planning to teach, PE days, special events and other relevant information for that half term.

  • Morning Greetings – (Not at Present – Due to Covid Guidance) 

Each morning starts with a greeting session where you are invited into school at 8.40am to complete some morning learning with your child. This might be some tricky word spelling, key vocabulary spelling, number learning or phonics activities. These are all designed to give your child a boost for the day ahead.

  • Learning Journeys

Every child in our Early Years setting has a learning journey, where their achievements, learning and development are recorded, celebrated and tracked. These are always available in the classrooms for you to view. You are a key contributor to your child’s learning and we encourage you to use our WOW slips. CLICK HERE .  These are to record any learning you see out of school. We will send some home with your child over the year, but if you want any more please click the link above.

  • Home -School Links

We will send home-school link activities throughout the year. These will link to learning your child has covered in class, so they can revisit it and help them to embed it. Completing them together will allow you to marvel at the new vocabulary and skills your child is developing and help them to get ready for their next steps, by consolidating what they know.  You will find next steps each half term in your child’s home-learning book, so you can help and support your child with their learning. You will also find ways to support your child’s reading, as they move through the phonics phases, by looking in their reading diary.

During our home-visits, we allocate all children a school book bag, which has some very useful resources in. Below you will find some of the resources we allocate to help your child develop their phonic knowledge and writing skills.

Grapheme_Mats_Phase_2_and_3 (CLICK HERE)

Phase 2 Grapheme Information Sheet – for Autumn 1 (CLICK HERE)

Phase 2 Grapheme Information Sheet – for Autumn 2 (CLICK HERE)

Capital_letter_formation  (CLICK HERE)

We just ‘LOVE to LEARN’ . Take a look at some of the fabulous things we have been busy doing in FS2/Wrens.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are the Key workers in Wrens reading their favourite stories. We do hope you and your child enjoy listening to these.

Mrs Briggs (Nursery Nurse)- loves the story ‘Farmer Duck’

Mrs Marriott (FS2 Class Teacher) – loves the story ‘Rumble in the Jungle’